American College of Commercial Finance Lawyers

The American College of Commercial Finance Lawyers, Inc. is a professional organization founded in 1991 and dedicated to promoting the field of commercial finance law through education, legislative reform and the recognition of distinguished practitioners, jurists and academics. The College offers a venue to promote and recognize outstanding achievement and advances in the field of commercial finance law.

Upcoming Events

Click here for information about upcoming events including the College’s briefings for Fellows.

2015 Membership Dues

If you have not yet paid your 2015 dues, it’s time! If you did not receive your invoice, please contact the office at You may pay your dues online or by mail.

The College’s Second Annual Fall Dinner & Advanced Seminar, held in Chicago in September, brought rave reviews!

The Advanced Seminar on Payment Rights as Article 9 Collateral, designed specifically for the Fellows of the College by Professor Neil B. Cohen (Jeffrey P. Forchelli Professor at Brooklyn Law School) was held on September 20, at Sidley Austin in Chicago. The numerous attendees found it as enlightening as it was interactive. For more detail, see College Activities.

The 2015 Fall Dinner, held on September 19 at the Racquet Club of Chicago, provided Fellows and guests an opportunity to relax and “catch up” with each other, while enjoying the classical revival ambience and excellent cuisine of this historic venue. Both the Dinner and Advanced Seminar were well attended.

Watch for information about next year’s event so that you can plan early to attend!

2015 Annual Meeting and Dinner Saturday, held April 18th in San Francisco, was a great success!

The 2015 Annual Meeting and Dinner of the Fellows of the American College of Commercial Finance Lawyers was held on Saturday April 18, 2015 in San Francisco, California. As in prior years, the College’s Annual Meeting and Dinner was convened in conjunction with the Spring Meeting of the Business Law Section of the ABA.

Maury Poscover one of the College’s founders, was honored with the College’s Homer Kripke Achievement Award. We also honored Professor Melissa B. Jacoby (Graham Kenan Professor of Law, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill) and Professor Edward J. Janger (David M. Barse Professor, Brooklyn Law School), whose article Ice Cube Bonds: Allocating the Price of Process in Chapter 11 Bankruptcy , 123 Yale L.J. 862 (2014), has been awarded the College’s Grant Gilmore Award.

The College welcomed the eleven new Fellows who were inducted at the event.